Panic Attacks and Anxiety – My Story…

Hello again blog world!

As you can probably tell from the title, I have panic attacks and anxiety. More specifically, panic attacks and social anxiety. 

I’ve never talked to anyone about this, as it’s quite a sensitive topic and I feel embarrassed about it. I haven’t even spoken to my parents or closest friends about it, but I need to tell someone, so I’ve decided to write a blog post about it! (If any of my real life friends are reading this (I’m looking at you Carrol(not her real name), I know my anxiety may come as a bit of a shock to you, and you might not believe me, but all I ask is for you to understand and continue reading.)



My First Panic Attack:

My first panic attack occurred at a previous school camp. We were getting organised to go kayaking when I suddenly felt a wave of anxiety and nervousness. I generally always get quite nervous when I’m faced with a situation involving large masses of water (lakes, ponds, etc.), as I’ve never learnt to swim, but this was something different. I was sweating, but I was cold. My heart rate increased, I started feeling dizzy, I felt sick, the voices around me were muffled and I wanted to cry. I had to hold back my sobs as I knew people would notice if I started crying. I was so scared. I didn’t know what was happening. I eventually calmed down and actually had a great time kayaking, but I still feared it happening again…

Why do Panic Attacks Happen?:

People have panic attacks because their brain thinks they’re in some kind of danger, even if they aren’t. The attacks usually continue if the person fears it happening to them again (like I did).

Social Anxiety:

Social anxiety is the fear of social situations that involve interaction with people that the person with the anxiety doesn’t know very well or isn’t comfortable around. You could say social anxiety is the fear  of being negatively judged and evaluated by other people. It is a pervasive disorder and causes anxiety and fear in almost all areas of a person’s life…


I hope this has helped you to understand anxiety a little bit better! If a friend or someone you know has anxiety, please do some further research and try to help them as best you can. Anxiety and panic attack sufferers generally feel as if nobody is there to help them, so please try to be the person that they feel comfortable to turn to when they feel like nobody understands.

I hope you all have a wonderful day!

Lovelifelikelucy…signing out.xxx

 


Leave a Reply

